Allergen Bureau welcomes New Zealand Directors

It is with great pleasure that the Allergen Bureau welcomes two new Directors to our Board.

Caroline Gray (Danisco-DuPont) and Debbie Hawkes (Hawkins Watts) were elected unopposed to the Allergen Bureau Board at our 5th Annual General Meeting on Thursday 26 October 2017 in Sydney.

Caroline and Debbie are both based in Auckland, New Zealand, and both have long standing associations with the Allergen Bureau – particularly as members of our Working Groups. Their expertise and experience within the New Zealand, Australian and global food industry will provide an exciting new perspective on Allergen Bureau initiatives and outputs.

Caroline holds the position of Regulatory Affairs Manager ANZ/SEA for DuPont Nutrition and Health. Caroline’s affinity for the food industry began in dairy quite some years ago in a role with the small but thriving Tatua Dairy Cooperative in Morrinsville. Following that, moving to Auckland, Caroline took up a role with the Danish food ingredients company Danisco Ltd which was acquired by DuPont Ltd in 2011, her current employer. Caroline has held positions in Technical Marketing, Quality, Product Services, Regulatory and Scientific Affairs, all of which have touched the sensitive realms of allergen management in its various forms.

Debbie has been working in the Food Industry for over 25 years. She has worked in New Zealand based roles, covering Product Development, Quality, Purchasing and Operations, for Tip Top Ice Cream, Tasti and Danisco-DuPont. These roles have included responsibilities in ANZ, ASPAC regional and global markets. Debbie’s current role is General Manager – Operations and Quality ANZ, for Hawkins Watts. Debbie and the Hawkins Watts Team ensure the Food Safety, Quality and Operational requirements of providing ANZ food manufacturers with a complex variety of food ingredients.

Kirsten Grinter (Nestlé Australia) was also re-elected as a Director at the 5th AGM.

Karen Robinson and David Henning were invited, and accepted, to return to the Board as Invited Directors.

Robin Sherlock (DTS Food Assurance) and Julie Newlands (Unilever Australia), respectively, retired as Directors prior to and following the 5th AGM. Robin and Julie have both made an enormous contribution to the success of the Allergen Bureau. Without their collective knowledge and expertise of the food industry and food allergen management, many initiatives of the Allergen Bureau would not have anywhere near the acceptance and impact in the Australian & New Zealand and global food industry that we see today. We thank Robin and Julie and wish them all the best with their future endeavours.

See Our Board for more information.