New Allergen Bureau Board

new allergen bureau board

The new Board of the Allergen Bureau Ltd was announced at the first Annual General Meeting held on 1 October 2013 in Sydney.

We are pleased to welcome Roger Bektash from Mars Australia who has replaced Neil Smith, Modelez International, who elected not to nominate for another term on the Board.

The Allergen Bureau Board is:

  • Kirsten Grinter, President (Nestle)
  • Robin Sherlock, Vice-President (DTS FACTA)
  • Julie Newlands, Honorary Treasurer (Unilever Australasia); and
  • Roger Bektash, Honorary Secretary (Mars Australia)

Roger is Director, Scientific Affairs for Mars’s operations in Australia and Asia and as such, is responsible for regulatory and scientific affairs and policy development in the Asia Pacific region. He has worked in a wide range of manufacturing, product development, nutrition research, and regulatory roles for Mars Incorporated in Australia, Japan and the Asian region. Roger is currently the deputy Chair of the AFGC’s Health, Nutrition and Scientific Affairs committee. We look forward to working with Roger as the Allergen Bureau increases its presence in Australia and New Zealand and within the wider international food industry.

On behalf of our member companies, we thank Neil for his wonderful contribution to the Allergen Bureau Management Committee and Board. Neil was involved in an exciting time for the Allergen Bureau as we became an incorporated not-for-profit organisation and promotion and recognition of VITAL grew internationally. Through Neil’s initiatives we reviewed our membership benefits and introduced a new Individual Member option, making the Allergen Bureau more accessible to all in the food industry. We extend our gratitude to Cadbury / Kraft / Mondelez International for their support of Neil’s contribution to the Allergen Bureau.

These Directors provide voluntary, unpaid services to the Allergen Bureau and we gratefully acknowledge the generous support they receive from their employer companies in this capacity.