By Allergen Bureau

AIFST Allergen Bureau ‘Julie Newlands’ Award – Apply Now!

The Allergen Bureau is thrilled to be collaborating with the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST) to offer the inaugural Allergen Bureau ‘Julie Newlands’ Award for best practice food allergen management, to be presented at the AIFST Convention 2018 (11-12 September 2018, Melbourne).

The award is named in honour of Julie Newlands, inaugural Director and the first Honorary Treasurer of the Allergen Bureau Ltd. Julie was a fabulous food allergen advocate and immersed herself in all aspects of allergen science, management and communication. Julie led the development of the VITAL® Best Practice Labelling Guide for Australia and New Zealand and the drive for allergen labelling exemptions. Both initiatives have a direct impact on the way we now consider and label allergens. Everything that Julie achieved at the Allergen Bureau is a testament to her drive and passion for the allergic consumer and for food safety. Julie passed away in November 2017.

In accordance with the Allergen Bureau Mission, the Selection Committee will decide the award recipient based on their contribution to a consistent, science-based approach to food allergen risk assessment, management and communication that guides industry best practice and assists allergen sensitive consumers to make informed choices based on label information.

The award winner will receive a complimentary registration to attend the 3rd Food Allergen Management Symposium 2019 (FAMS2019) to held in Melbourne, Australia, including a return economy domestic airfare and three nights’ accommodation in Melbourne. The award recipient will gain ANZ and international recognition for their excellence in food allergen management.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must be current financial AIFST members within all sectors of the Australian food industry and nominees for this award must be a resident in Australia.

The Allergen Bureau encourages self-nomination from any person or organisation making a significant contribution to best practice food allergen management in Australia.

The award guidelines and nomination form are available from the AIFST website – Click here.

Please send a nomination to AIFST close 5:00 pm Sunday 22 July 2018, so be quick and nominate now!