By Allergen Bureau

Nominate Now for Allergen Bureau/AIFST Julie Newlands Award 2022

It’s that time of the year again to reflect on the progress and achievements of your business and nominate for the joint Allergen Bureau/Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST) Julie Newlands Award for best practice food allergen management. If you follow best practice allergen management in your company or organisation or have made an improvement in your Allergen Management plan we would love you to take a moment to reflect, make a submission and share the journey.  

The award seeks to encourage all Australian food industry sectors to adopt a consistent, science-based approach to food allergen risk assessment, management, and communication for the benefit of the allergen sensitive consumer. The award is given in honour of Julie Newlands who was an inaugural Director, and the first Honorary Treasurer of the Allergen Bureau Ltd. Julie was a fabulous food allergen advocate and immersed herself in all aspects of allergen science, management and communication. Everything that Julie achieved at the Allergen Bureau is a testament to her drive and passion for the allergic consumer and for food safety. Julie passed away in November 2017. 

The award recipients will gain ANZ and international recognition for their excellence in food allergen management as well as flights and accommodation to either the NZIFST conference or FAMS 2023.

Nominations close on July 14th

For nomination forms click here