Julie Newlands Award

In honour of Julie Newlands, who was an inaugural Director and the first Honorary Treasurer of the Allergen Bureau Ltd and a fabulous food allergen advocate, the award aims to promote and raise awareness of best-practice food allergen management. It seeks to encourage all food industry sectors to adopt a consistent, science-based approach to food allergen risk assessment, management, and communication for the benefit of those with food allergy.

This award is open to all food ingredient suppliers, food manufacturers and food establishments, big or small, who are committed to ensuring the food they produce can be trusted by allergen sensitive consumers. The journey to best practice is continuous and ever evolving. Applicants may be beginning their allergen management journey or quite mature in the way they approach this important area of food safety. Download the application pack below.

The winner is announced every second year at the Food Allergen Management Symposium.

The award recipient will gain ANZ and international recognition for their demonstrated commitment to food allergen management and receive a free FAMS registration, award certificate and digital tagline; “Winner Allergen Bureau – Julie Newlands Best Practice Allergen Management.

All entrants will be recognised.

The Allergen Bureau wishes to thank the Newlands family for kindly allowing us to name this award in Julie’s memory.

Applications close Tuesday 11th April 2023 – submit to info@allergenbureau.net

Download the Applicant Information Pack

Award Application Pack
Read more

Previous Winners

Prior to 2023 the award had a Australian and New Zealand winner, for 2023 onwards the award has been combined.

New Zealand Natural Ice Cream Limited – New Zealand
Catherine Pitts

No Australian award presented in 2022

HJ Langdon and Co
– Australia
Jo Price

No New Zealand award presented in 2021

Monash health and the Monash Health Central Kitchen
– Australia
Imran Hanif & Peter Fischer

Woolworths New Zealand – New Zealand
Sue Wheeler

Woolworths New Zealand – New Zealand
Sue Wheeler

Food Safety Coordinator Lion Dairy & Drinks – Australia
Sarah Proctor

Robern Menz – Australia
Sue Wilkinson

Talleys Ice Cream – New Zealand
Donna and Mike Elston