By Allergen Bureau

Meet the new Allergen Bureau Board

It is with great pleasure that we welcome Jasmine Lacis-Lee, DTS Food Assurance, as an elected Director of the Allergen Bureau Board.

Jasmine and returning Director Caroline Gray (DuPont) were both declared elected to the Allergen Bureau Board at our 6th Annual General Meeting on Thursday 25 October 2018 in Sydney.

Jasmine currently works for DTS Food Assurance as their Food Safety Manager – Microbiology and Allergens. In this role, she is responsible for providing guidance to the food industry with relation to result interpretation, mitigating microbiological and allergen risks in facilities and providing training to clients. She began her career in the food industry more than 20 years ago working as a microbiologist in a commercial food testing laboratory. In 1998, Jasmine joined Parmalat, an Allergen Bureau Founding Member company, and held various roles in her time there including National Pathogen Laboratory Manager and the company’s Senior Microbiologist. In this role, she was charged with writing and implementing the company’s first National Allergen Management Plan and testing regime in the early 2000’s, along with providing support on other microbiological and food safety risks in the business. In 2013, Jasmine moved to Coca Cola Amatil’s largest facility in QLD as Food Safety Manager, responsible for the management of the laboratory team, the sites quality system and providing technical support with regard to quality and equipment validation.

Jasmine looks forward to supporting the future of the Allergen Bureau and the food industry in Australia and New Zealand, strengthening a global approach and harmonisation in this area.

Caroline holds the position of Regulatory Affairs Manager, Dietary Supplements SEA, ANZ, for DuPont Nutrition and Health. Caroline’s affinity for the food industry began in dairy quite some years ago in a role with the small but thriving Tatua Dairy Cooperative in Morrinsville. Following that, moving to Auckland, Caroline took up a role with the Danish food ingredients company Danisco Ltd which was acquired by DuPont Ltd in 2011, her current employer. Caroline has held positions in Technical Marketing, Quality, Product Services, Regulatory and Scientific Affairs, all of which have touched the sensitive realms of allergen management in its various forms.

David Henning was invited, and accepted, to return to the Board as an Invited Director.

Karen Robinson has served as an Invited Director, being the Allergen Bureau Honorary Secretary & Company Secretary during the past year, and as a past elected Director. We thank Karen Robinson for her many contributions to the Allergen Bureau and Board.

The Allergen Bureau Board is:

  • Kirsten Grinter, Allergen Bureau President (Nestlé Australia Ltd)
  • Caroline Gray, Allergen Bureau Vice-President (DuPont Nutrition and Health)
  • Debbie Hawkes, Allergen Bureau Honorary Treasurer (Hawkins Watts)
  • Jasmine Lacis-Lee, Honorary Secretary and Company Secretary (DTS Food Assurance)
  • David Henning (Invited Director)

These Directors provide voluntary, unpaid services to the Allergen Bureau and we gratefully acknowledge both their time and the generous support they receive from their employer companies in this capacity.

See Our Board for more information.